Skip to content
The 12 women's and 12 men's HSBC SVNS captains at Dubai's world record-breaking Sky Cantilever at One Za’abeel ahead of round 1, the Emirates Dubai 7s

Preview: Emirates Dubai 7s | HSBC SVNS 2024

Text, Images and Videos via World Rugby

The Emirates Dubai 7s is the opening round of HSBC SVNS 2024, featuring the top 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams in the world

New Zealand are reigning men’s and women’s champions, while South Africa men and Australia women will aim to repeat their success in Dubai last December

The new-look HSBC SVNS features seven regular-season events plus a Grand Final with promotion and relegation at stake, before the Olympic Games Paris 2024

Captains take the game to new heights by gathering at the world record-breaking Sky Cantilever at One Za’abeel

The action begins at 09:00 local time (GMT+4) on Saturday, with the women’s and men’s finals at 19:13 and 19:53 on Sunday respectively.

An exciting new era for rugby sevens will begin in Dubai on 2-3 December as the highly anticipated HSBC SVNS 2024 kicks off.

Action shot from Dubai Sevens 2022

The Emirates Dubai 7s features the top 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams in the world competing over two action-packed days at The Sevens Stadium.

Rugby sevens is going next level and the 24 captains led by example on Wednesday as they took the game to new heights by gathering on top of the world record-breaking Sky Cantilever at One Za’abeel – Dubai’s newest architectural marvel.

The Emirates Dubai 7s has been a mainstay on the global rugby sevens calendar since its inception in 1999 and will feature a huge music and entertainment line-up and mass participation in sports activities alongside the world-class rugby sevens to entertain fans in a festival atmosphere.

The HSBC SVNS action kicks off at 09:00 local time (GMT+4) on Saturday with the men’s and women’s pool matches. Day two begins at 09:30 on Sunday with the quarter-finals and culminates with the women’s gold medal final at 19:13, followed by the men’s final at 19:53 local time.

The men’s competition sees 2023 series champions New Zealand – who were winners in Sydney, Los Angeles, Hong Kong, Singapore and Toulouse last season – headline Pool A alongside Canada, last year’s Cape Town winners Samoa and the defending Emirates Dubai 7s champions South Africa, in a repeat showdown of the recent Rugby World Cup final in Paris in the 15s game.

2023 Hamilton, Vancouver and London winners, Argentina are in Pool B and will face Spain, Australia and Ireland in Dubai, while double Olympic gold medal winners Fiji will meet France, USA and Great Britain in Pool C.

In the women’s competition, New Zealand, who won six of seven tournaments to claim their seventh series title, headline Pool A alongside Fiji, Great Britain and the World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series 2023 champions South Africa who join the series this season.

Defending Emirates Dubai 7s champions Australia will face Brazil, Ireland and Japan in Pool B, while last season’s overall bronze medal winners USA take on France, Spain and their North American rivals Canada in Pool C.

The competition format replicates the Olympic model and sees the top two teams from each pool, plus the best two third-placed teams qualify for the quarterfinals from where it is knockout rugby.

World Rugby’s revamped and rebranded global celebration of rugby sevens is taking place across eight iconic destinations and is set to supercharge the sport’s global appeal.

The new-look HSBC SVNS 2024 features seven regular-season events – in Dubai, Cape Town, Perth, Vancouver, Los Angeles, Hong Kong and Singapore – before the Grand Final in Madrid. The top eight placed teams based on cumulative series points after seven events will compete in the new ‘winner-takes-all’ Grand Final, where the women’s and men’s champions will be crowned.

Madrid will also play host to the high stakes relegation play-off competition where teams ranked ninth to 12th will join the top four teams from the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Challenger series, with the top four placed teams securing their place on HSBC SVNS 2025.

Sevens reimagined

The reimagined competition model means fans can expect even more excitement, entertainment and nail-biting jeopardy. And with the clock counting down until rugby sevens kicks off the Olympic Games in Paris on 24 July, 2024, the action will be hotter than ever on and off the pitch.

HSBC SVNS events will deliver the ultimate in immersive experiences, a unique festival of sport, entertainment, music, culture and cuisine alongside the world’s best men’s and women’s athletes set against the spectacular backdrops of some of the most stunning locations around the globe.

In line with World Rugby’s commitment to growing the women’s game, all HSBC SVNS events will see men’s and women’s teams sharing the platform equally to showcase their incredible strength, speed and skill on the biggest stages around the world.

Fans can watch the HSBC SVNS action wherever you are in the world, either via broadcaster partners or online on RugbyPass TV. All matches taking place on pitch two in Dubai will be live-streamed on RugbyPass TV.

Quick Links




Like it? Share it!
Back To Top