Skip to content
New Zealand celebrates as the Series champion on day two of the HSBC London Sevens at Twickenham Stadium on 21 May, 2023 in London, United Kingdom.

Highlights: London Sevens | HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series

Argentina Wins Cup Title, New Zealand Crowned Series Champions at HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series Finals

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2023 came to a thrilling conclusion on Saturday at Twickenham Stadium with Argentina defeating Fiji to claim their third cup title of the season, New Zealand being crowned 2023 Series champions, Australia claiming the final Paris 2024 Summer Olympics spot and Canada retaining core status with a passionate victory over Kenya in the 2024 Play-off.

In the cup final, Fiji opened the scoring but lost Josese Batirerega to a second-minute red card and the South Americans took full advantage to round off their most successful season in style, winning 35-14.

In the bronze medal final, Samoa had not won a third place final in their previous 10 attempts, stretching back almost a decade, but they recovered from falling 14-0 down to the All Blacks Sevens to win a nail-biting match 24-19.

Earlier on Sunday, Australia secured qualification for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games, for the first time via the Series, winning the seventh-place play-off against Great Britain to wrap up fifth place in the standings.

Canada, meanwhile, confirmed their core status for next season by winning the World Rugby Sevens Series 2024 Play-off, edging a tense decider 12-7 against Kenya at Twickenham.

With the Series concluded, participating teams present in London will attend the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series Awards in the evening to recognise and celebrate the achievements of those involved in the 2023 competition.

Here are the key results from the weekend:

  • Cup Final: Argentina 35-14 Fiji
  • Bronze Medal Final: Samoa 24-19 New Zealand
  • Seventh-Place Play-off: Australia 24-12 Great Britain
  • 2024 Play-off: Canada 12-7 Kenya

Here are the final standings for the 2023 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series:

  1. New Zealand
  2. South Africa
  3. England
  4. Fiji
  5. Australia
  6. Samoa
  7. France
  8. Scotland
  9. Kenya
  10. Wales
  11. Argentina
  12. Portugal
  13. Chile
  14. Ireland
  15. Japan
  16. USA
  17. Canada
  18. Germany
  19. Spain
  20. Hong Kong

Here are the teams that have qualified for the Paris 2024 Summer Olympics:

  • Host nation: France
  • Top four teams from the 2023 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series: New Zealand, South Africa, England, Fiji
  • Winner of the 2023 Rugby World Cup Sevens: South Africa
  • Remaining two teams: Australia, Argentina

The 2024/25 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will begin in November 2024.




Like it? Share it!
Back To Top