Skip to content
New Zealand is the gold medal winner on day two of the HSBC Los Angeles Sevens at Dignity Health Sports Park on 26 February, 2023 in Los Angeles, United States.

Highlights | HSBC LA SEVENS 2023 | Day 2

New Zealand secured HSBC Los Angeles gold with a 22-12 over Argentina to capture their second consecutive title to increase their lead at the top of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2023 standings.

New Zealand’s men’s team made history by becoming the first team to win two tournaments in the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2023. They defeated Argentina 22-12 in the Cup final held in Los Angeles. Leroy Carter was the star player for the All Blacks Sevens, scoring five tries, including two in the final, helping his team win their second successive title.

This victory allowed New Zealand to avenge their defeat to Argentina in their home Cup final in Hamilton last month and also strengthened their position at the top of the standings. They have amassed 107 points, which is 21 more than the second-placed team, Los Pumas Sevens, after six of the 11 tournaments played in the 2023 Series.

The All Blacks Sevens took the lead early in the Cup final as Moses Leo scored the first try of the match, and Carter soon doubled their lead, converted by Akuila Rokolisao. Carter scored again just before halftime to ease any nerves his team may have had.

Despite tries from Tobias Wade and Agustin Fraga, Los Pumas Sevens were unable to mount a comeback, and Brady Rush sealed the victory for New Zealand with a dummy that fooled the Argentine defenders.

Fiji had a chance to win the bronze medal in their match against Australia but were let down by their indiscipline, which led to a 20-17 defeat. They seemed to be cruising towards victory until Australia’s Maurice Longbottom, Dietrich Roache, and Nathan Lawson all scored tries in the last five minutes. However, Longbottom’s missed conversion proved to be the difference, and Fiji held on to win the bronze medal.

The Cup Semi-Final Match Highlights between Argentina and Fiji at HSBC Los Angeles Sevens
Credit: World Rugby

The men’s teams will now move to Vancouver, Canada, for the next round of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2023. New Zealand will be in Pool A with Cape Town champions Samoa, Spain, and the United States. Argentina, South Africa, France, and Japan will be in Pool B, while Fiji will be in Pool C with Great Britain, Uruguay, and Kenya. Australia, Ireland, Canada, and Chile will be in Pool D.

The women’s teams will also compete in Vancouver, marking the first time the women’s Series will be played inside BC Place Stadium alongside the men. New Zealand, Fiji, Great Britain, and Colombia will be in Pool A, while Australia, France, Japan, and Spain will be in Pool B. The USA, Ireland, Canada, and Brazil will be in Pool C.

Quick Links




Like it? Share it!
Back To Top