Skip to content
Ireland beat Wales in Dublin

Ireland Edges Closer to Six Nations Grand Slam with Gritty Victory Over Wales in Dublin

Ireland inched closer to a consecutive Six Nations Grand Slam with a hard-fought bonus-point victory against a determined Welsh team in Dublin.

The match began with Ireland’s Dan Sheehan and James Lowe scoring, putting Ireland ahead 17-0 by halftime. Wales’s chances improved after receiving a penalty try and Ireland’s Tadhg Beirne received a sin-bin early in the second half.

However, Ciaran Frawley’s try calmed Irish nerves, and Beirne later secured the bonus point. This win ties Ireland with England’s record of 11 straight Six Nations wins and keeps them on track for another Grand Slam, a feat last achieved by France in 1998.

Wales, facing their third consecutive loss, showed resilience, especially in the second half, but couldn’t significantly reduce the deficit.

Despite a slow start, Ireland’s scrum dominance soon led to Sheehan’s try. Lowe later added another try, breaking through Wales’s tough defense. Ireland’s 18-match home winning streak continued.

Wales, disappointed with their third loss, showed promise in the second half, contrasting their inability to challenge Ireland in the first. They gained momentum after a penalty try was awarded due to Beirne’s foul.

Ireland upped their game in response, with Frawley scoring a crucial try. Beirne redeemed himself by scoring later, preparing Ireland for their upcoming match against England in Twickenham.



Frawley; Nash, Henshaw, Aki, Lowe; Crowley, Gibson-Park; Porter, Sheehan, Furlong; McCarthy, Beirne; O’Mahony (capt), Van der Flier, Doris.

Replacements: Kelleher, Healy, Jager, Ryan, Baird, Conan, Murray, McCloskey.


Wales: Winnett; Adams, North, Tompkins, Dyer; Costelow, Tomos Williams; G Thomas, Dee, Assiratti, Jenkins (capt), Beard, Mann, Reffell, Wainwright.

Replacements: Elias, Domachowski, D Lewis, Rowlands, M Martin, Hardy, I Lloyd, Grady. Referee: Andrea Piardi (Italy)

Man of the Mach: Bundee Aki (Ireland)


Ireland (17) 31 Try: Sheehan (21′), Lowe (32′), Frawley (67′), Beirne (80’+2) Conversion: Crowley (22′, 33′, 68′, 80’+3) Penalty: Crowley (7′)

Wales (0) 7 Try: Penalty try (43′)

Guinness Six Nations 2024 | All Reports

Guinness Six Nations 2024 | Homepage

Like it? Share it!
Back To Top