Skip to content
New Zealand women’s and men’s are the gold medal winners on day three of the HSBC SVNS at National Stadium on 5 May, 2024 in Singapore.


via World Rugby

History was made on a dazzling day of high drama, emotion and all action international rugby sevens at Singapore National Stadium.

Argentina’s men claimed their first ever HSBC SVNS league winners title and New Zealand overcame arch rivals Australia in an epic women’s final to win both the Singapore and SVNS League titles. New Zealand beat Ireland in the men’s final to clinch their second consecutive Singapore title.

New Zealand came out 31-21 victors against Australia in a straight shootout to be crowned SVNS League Winners 2024 and the first ever women’s HSBC SVNS Singapore champions.

Black Ferns Sevens Clinch Thrilling Victory to Secure Top Spot in Women’s Series Standings

In a thrilling conclusion to the tightest women’s series in history, it all came down to the very last game, contested by the two sides locked on 106 points each at the top of the standings.

However, a depleted Australia could not reply to a ferocious Black Ferns Sevens performance, including a hat-trick from Michaela Blyde, their fourth successive tournament gold confirming their place at the top of the regular season standings.

The final tournament of the regular season also brought confirmation of the final standings. France outshone Fiji for the bronze medal in Singapore to confirm third in the standings, and Great Britain secured eighth spot to fight it out in the Grand Final in Madrid, with Brazil joining Japan, South Africa and Spain to compete in the promotion-relegation tournament.

New Zealand men’s win the tournament, while Argentina win the Series in historic fashion

The men’s regular HSBC SVNS season also concluded in Singapore after seven highly competitive rounds as New Zealand edged Ireland 17-14 to clinch the Singapore title and make it double delight for New Zealand on the day.

Argentina had to dig deep and find a way to win 14-10 over South Africa in the fifth-place play-off, coming back from 10-0 down at the break to secure their first-ever HSBC SVNS series win.

As Argentina’s celebrations began, it was the All Blacks Sevens who clinched the title in Singapore, defending their trophy from last year and taking their second consecutive gold after victory last time out in Hong Kong.

It was an emotional moment when Argentina finally confirmed themselves as this season’s League Winners, a last-minute winner from Tobias Wade under the posts confirming the title that looked so firmly in their grasp after three wins in the first four tournaments of the season, but became less certain after slip-ups in Los Angeles and Hong Kong.

Trailing South Africa at the break, Revol spoke of what it took for his team to come back for the victory.
The race for the last Grand Final spot was eventually won by Great Britain after a 26-5 victory over Australia in the bronze medal match.

USA had held off a French fightback to win 19-17 in the seventh-place play-off, but Great Britain’s win saw them clinch the eighth seeding and send the USA in to the promotion and relegation competition in Madrid.

Great Britain men’s captain Robbie Fergusson said: “It’s not really sunk in to be honest! Seven points behind in the standings and I think everyone had written us off but to come out and play knockout rugby, from game two just to have a shot was unbelievable character from the boys and the resilience from us as a group to come together.

The new look HSBC SVNS 2024 featured seven regular season events in Dubai, Cape Town, Perth, Vancouver, Los Angeles, Hong Kong and Singapore, where the League Winners were decided, before the inaugural Grand Final in Madrid on 31 May to 2 June when the HSBC SVNS 2024 champions will be crowned in the winner takes-all event featuring the top eight teams from the regular season.

The event in Madrid will also see the bottom four placed teams from HSBC SVNS 2024 compete with the top four teams from the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Challenger 2024 in a new high stakes promotion and relegation competition.

At the conclusion of the Singapore event the eight men’s and women’s teams who will contest the Grand Final are now confirmed.

The men’s competition will involve Argentina, Ireland, New Zealand, Australia, France, Fiji, South Africa and Great Britain, while the USA, Spain, Samoa and Canada will contest the promotion and relegation competition.

The women’s Grand Final teams are New Zealand, Australia, France, USA, Canada, Fiji, Ireland and Great Britain, as Japan, Brazil, South Africa and Spain head into the promotion and relegation competition.

Quick Links



Like it? Share it!
Back To Top