Skip to content
Fiji team huddle before the game against France on day two of the Cathay/ HSBC Hong Kong Sevens at Hong Kong Stadium on 6 April, 2024 in Hong Kong, China.

HIGHLIGHTS | Cathay/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens 2024 | DAY 2

via World Rugby

A day full of excitement at Hong Kong Stadium saw a sell-out crowd of 40,000 cheer on their favorites. By the end of it, four teams remained in the race for the prestigious trophy at the Cathay/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens for both men and women.

Women’s Semi-Final Showdown

The upcoming semi-final on Sunday will feature a much-anticipated match between Australia and New Zealand. Despite New Zealand’s unexpected 26-21 loss to France, they advanced to face Australia. On the other side, the USA will play against France.

New Zealand, the defending champions, bounced back by defeating Canada 26-5. France outplayed Ireland with a 31-7 win. The USA dominated Fiji, winning 33-7, setting up an intense match with Australia after their hard-fought 12-0 victory over Japan.

Men’s Competition Highlights

In the men’s tournament, Argentina, the series leader, was unexpectedly knocked out. Ireland, France, Australia, and New Zealand moved on to the semifinals. Despite Argentina’s consistent performances, their Hong Kong challenge ended after a close win against Great Britain.

Ireland’s Terry Kennedy shined, scoring three times against the USA, including the decisive score. France secured a spot in the semi-finals by beating Spain 24-10. Australia will face New Zealand after both secured victories in their quarter-final matches.

New Format and Road to the Grand Final

The HSBC SVNS 2024 has introduced a new format with seven events leading to the Grand Final in Madrid. The teams with the highest points after these events will compete for the ultimate title.

The latest matches confirmed that Ireland, Fiji, France, Australia, and New Zealand will join Argentina at the Grand Final. South Africa has a chance to secure their spot with a win against Fiji.

For women, the USA, Canada, Ireland, and Fiji have secured their places alongside Australia, New Zealand, and France. Great Britain and Brazil will vie for the final spot in a decisive match.

Argentina led the men’s standings upon arriving in Hong Kong. Australia heads the women’s leaderboard, closely followed by New Zealand and France.

Finals Day

The finals on Sunday will start with the semi-finals in the morning. The climax will be the women’s and men’s finals in the evening. Fans worldwide can watch the action through broadcast partners or online on RugbyPass TV.

Quick Links



Like it? Share it!
Back To Top